Tomato Soup

I love tomato soups. That sounds simple enough right? No. I love those creamy, decadent types that brings so much warmth to your heart. With it comes this uncomfortable amount of calories and fat, because of which I never used to make soups at home. Having it at restaurants once in a blue moon was luxury. This all changed one night, when I let my hubby make this soup. Two surprises, one,  I let my hubby in to the kitchen to *GASP* cook. Second, I absolutely, head-over-heels loved it (not because he cooks bad, but I am just difficult to please). So I am, sharing my hubby’s recipe with you. Relish it to your heart’s content, because its vegan. Enjoy!

Tomato Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 Big can of no-salt-added crushed tomato
  • 1 small can of tomato sauce (this is optional)
  • 1 tsp of turmeric
  • 1 tsp of chilli powder
  • Pinch of asafoetida
  • 1 tsp of garam masala
  • 1/2 packet of silken tofu
  • 3 tsp of salt (or more per taste)

Putting it Together

  • Put all the ingredients except the tofu in to a pot
  • Boil for 20 min on medium until the soup is cooked
  • Grind the tofu to a paste and add it to the soup. You can thin it out with water to your desired consistency (keep in mind you might need to add some salt extra)
  • Garnish with some herbs of your choice

The flower pictured above are cilantro blossoms from my garden. They taste fantastic.

6 thoughts on “Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

