Acorn Squash Kibbeh

There is this Mediterranean restaurant near my house. We have been driving by that place for two years, but it never occurred for us to “risk” venturing in to the place. I knew the cuisine is as close to Indian cuisine, but never did I have the inkling to go in. Finally, one day, we thought enough is enough and we went in for lunch. That day was probably the best day in my culinary life… I tasted the pumpkin kibbeh pie. This gorgeous pumpkin filled, bulgar and chick pea filled goodness from heaven. I was in cloud 9!! I mentally kicked myself for not eating here often. And hence my immediate quest for the best pumpkin kibbeh recipe that I could find in Google-o-sphere began. Original pumpkin kibbeh has eggs which act as binder. Since I wanted to avoid eggs, my pie is a bit on the sloppy side, but it came out deliciously. This is what wikipedia says about the kibbeh, if you are like me.. Moreover, my version is vegan, so fear not and Enjoy!

Kibbeh1

I recently discovered that even a dirty spoon could give so much character to the pie, that I left the fork on the plate.. It looked gorgeous.

Kibbeh2

Ingredients

  • One Acorn squash (or you could use pumpkins or even spaghetti squash, and as Rachel Ray says, “whatever floats your boat”! :))
  • Baby spinach – 1 bag
  • Chick peas – 1 can
  • Cracked Wheat – 1 Cup (if you like, you could use bulgar, but I prefer the fine texture of cracked wheat)
  • Peanuts to garnish
  • Rice flour – To bind , 2 or 3 spoons
  • Onions – finely chopped – 1/4 cup
  • Garlic powder – 1 tbsp
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Chilli powder – 1 tbsp
  • Cumin powder – 1 tbsp

Putting It Together

  • Crank up the oven to 400 deg (depends on your oven)
  • Cut the acorn squash in to halves and spread olive oil in it
  • Bake the squashes with cut side down on a baking plate, for about 30 mins
  • Remove from the over and let it cool down
  • Meanwhile in a skillet, add some olive oil and let it heat through
  • Add onions, spinach, chick peas, salt and pepper and saute them
  • Once they are cooked through, remove to cool down
  • Soak the cracked wheat in some hot water for 15 mins and drain the water. (do not throw the water, you can use it to mix the dough)
  • Once the squash is cooled, remove the squash flesh with a fork and add it to a large mixing bowl
  • Add the cooked spinach mixture and the drained cracked wheat
  • Add in garlic powder, enough salt and pepper to taste, chilli powder and cumin powder
  • Get in to the mixture with your hands and mix them thoroughly. Add in rice flour as and when required to have a sticky doughy consistency
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spread a baking dish with oil and add the pumpkin kibbeh mixture in to it.
  • Put a cling wrap on the top of the mixture and with a spatula, iron out the wrinkles on the top (the cling wrap is not for baking )
  • With a clean knife, divide the dough in to pies. Drizzle olive oil on top
  • Bake for about 30 mins until a knife comes out clean and the sides crisp up
  • Remove from fire and server with gorgeous hummus and yogurt dipping sauce (Combine yogurt, hummus, salt and pepper)
  • Garnish with peanuts

This post would not be complete without talking about this gorgeous website from where I made this. You can head over to that page and make it that way too. I wouldn’t mind 🙂

6 thoughts on “Acorn Squash Kibbeh

  1. Cumin is one of my favorite spices. I swear I don’t go a day without using it. I was looking around for an acorn squash recipe since I just picked a basketful from my garden. I must say that this recipe sounds wonderful. I’ve never had kibbeh, but I always love trying new ideas.

  2. Pingback: Quick Peek–Fall Harvest | Cumin Coriander Cardamom – Spices of Life

  3. Pingback: Quick Peek–Fall Harvest | Cumin Coriander Cardamom

Leave a Reply

